Awards Named for Tharrington Smith Attorneys Announced

The North Carolina Bar Association has named two awards in honor of Tharrington Smith attorneys. In 2015, these awards have been bestowed upon two highly deserving legal practitioners in our state.

The North Carolina Bar Association’s Criminal Justice Section has two awards for issuance to criminal law attorneys in the state annually. One, directed to the prosecutorial side of criminal justice, is named for Peter S. Gilchrist III, who served for 36 years as the Mecklenberg District Attorney. The second, directed to the defense side of criminal justice, is named for one of Tharrington Smith’s founding partners, Wade M. Smith. Established in 2008, the Wade M. Smith Award is given annually to a Criminal Defense Attorney who exemplifies the highest ideals of the profession. This year’s award was presented at the Peter S. Gilchrist III and Wade M. Smith Awards Dinner held in Cary in January. The Wade M. Smith Award was bestowed upon Mark W. Owens, Jr. of Greenville.

The North Carolina Bar Association’s Education Law Section posthumously renamed its merit award for Ann L. Majestic, long term Tharrington Smith partner, following her untimely death in 2014, and is now known as the Ann L. Majestic Distinguished Service Award. The 2015 recipient of this award is David Broome, Vice Chancellor and General Counsel at University of North Carolina-Charlotte. Mr. Broome has served higher education in our state for 40 years. The Award will be dedicated at the Annual Meeting of the North Carolina Bar Association at Asheville in June.

The lawyers at Tharrington Smith congratulate the 2015 winners of the awards named in honor of our veteran attorneys.