Citizen Lawyers Earn NCBA Recognition

North Carolina Bar Association

The NCBA recognized its outstanding Citizen Lawyers for 2007 Saturday, including: Barbara Perry, outgoing chair of the Senior Lawyers Division who accepted on behalf of her son, Jimbo Perry, Fred Jones, Candice Wooten, Nan Hannah, Rep. Phil Haire, David Gantt, Jeff Andrews, Lynn Burleson, Asa Bell, Brian Darer, Jim Deal, Melinda Burroughs and Woody Harrison. Back row, Judge J. H. Corpening, Phil Dixon, Alan Duncan, John Mabe and Mike Wells.

The North Carolina Bar Association’s ongoing efforts to identify and recognize citizen lawyers came into full focus at the 2007 Annual Meeting, conducted June 21-24 at the Grove Park Inn Resort & Spa in Asheville.

Throughout the Annual Meeting, and especially during Saturday morning’s General Session, the NCBA Citizen Lawyers commanded center stage. The Citizen Lawyer Task Force, chaired by Bill Flynn and charged by President Clark Smith to illuminate the noble efforts of citizen lawyers throughout the state, recognized 25 of North Carolina’s leading citizen lawyers.

In addition to the General Session, during which each citizen lawyer honoree came across the stage to receive a distinctive 2007 NCBA Citizen Lawyer memento, recognition posters commemorating each citizen lawyer were displayed prominently throughout the Annual Meeting.

Flynn announced each recipient and read excerpts from their bios while Clark presented the awards.

The honorees represented a broad cross-section of lawyers serving in numerous ways, including appointive and elective boards and commissions, non-profit organizations, youth sports and officials, scouting, involvement in local schools, environmental causes and statewide service.

Their names and hometowns are:

  • James Deal, Boone;
  • Alan Duncan, Greensboro;
  • Fred Turnage, Rocky Mount;
  • David Gantt, Asheville;
  • Phillip Dixon, Greenville;
  • James (Jimbo) Perry, Kinston;
  • Woody Harrison, Wilson;
  • Anthony Foxx, Charlotte;
  • Brian Darer, Raleigh;
  • Judge Julius Corpening, II, Wilmington;
  • Nan Hannah, Cary;
  • Hada Haulsee, Winston-Salem;
  • Leslie O’Toole, Raleigh;
  • Alan S. Gordon, Charlotte;
  • Asa Bell, Raleigh;
  • Rep. Phil Haire, Sylva;
  • Lynne Fuller-Andrews, Winston-Salem;
  • Fred Howell Jones, Franklin;
  • Sean Lew, Winston-Salem;
  • Lynn Burleson, Raleigh;
  • John Mabe, Raleigh;
  • Candice Wooten, Winston-Salem;
  • Melinda Burrows, Raleigh;
  • Jeffrey Andrews, Burlington; and
  • Mike Wells, Winston-Salem.

NC Bar Association · PO Box 3688 · Cary, NC 27519 · 8000 Weston Parkway · Cary, NC 27513 · Tel: (919) 677-0561. Questions? Comments? Help · Help Demos · NCBA Feedback · Privacy Policy © Copyright 2004, NC Bar Association. All Rights Reserved