Seven Tharrington Smith Attorneys Named Among 2021 Business North Carolina Legal Elite®

Tharrington Smith, LLP is thrilled to announce the selection of seven lawyers to the 2021 Business North Carolina Legal Elite announced on January 1, 2021. This group is the 20th Legal Elite class and is entirely peer-nominated. Each year active members of the N.C. State Bar are invited to vote on their most-esteemed peers. This year, 982 lawyers were selected as Legal Elite, representing fewer than 4% of the state’s 28,000 active attorneys; it is a tremendous honor. 

The Legal Elite list is unique as it remains the only list that gives every active lawyer in the state a chance to participate. They ask lawyers one simple question, “Of the Tar Heel lawyers whose work you have observed firsthand, whom would you rate among the current best in these categories?” Voters are not allowed to vote for themselves, and those with the most nominations from their peers are then honored with inclusion in the Legal Elite class.

Tharrington Smith, LLP lawyers were named in three categories, criminal defense, family law, and young guns. They also had one selection, Wade Smith, to the criminal defense Hall of Fame. 

“It is both an honor and privilege to be named to the Legal Elite Hall of Fame in criminal defense. 2020 was a year like no other, and I am proud of each lawyer at the firm for working so hard in and out of the office. To have seven lawyers on this list is a testament to the incredible staff and the lawyers here at Tharrington Smith,” said Smith.

Below is a complete list of Tharrington Smith, LLP lawyers recognized on the Legal Elite list and their practice areas. 

  • F. Hill Allen, Criminal Defense.
  • Russell D. Babb, Criminal Defense.
  • Wade Smith, Criminal Defense. *Hall of Fame selection
  • Evan Horwitz, Family Law.
  • Jaye Meyer, Family Law.
  • Alice C. Stubbs, Family Law.
  • Mary Aiken Barrow, Young Guns.

In Raleigh and beyond, Tharrington Smith, LLP has long been the standard in all areas of law, and they are excited to congratulate Allen, Babb, Smith, Horwitz, Meyer, Stubbs, and Barrow on their selections to the respective prestigious lists. Congratulations to these dedicated and experienced lawyers.